NeiMen and Chisan Townships, Kaohsiung County, Taiwan

Over the last two months, I’ve been traveling to NeiMen, a remote township out in the former Kaohsiung County (now all a part of the Kaohsiung Special Municipality), for I am teaching elementary school English once every two weeks as a guest visitor, and the route also takes me through ChiSan, a larger township nearby. Both locales are NE of Kaohsiung City (KHH), Taiwan’s second largest metropolitan area. NeiMen is relatively well known for its annual Battle Array, taking place every spring, and there are a number of temples and other sights to visit. On the other hand, ChiSan has an Old Street area to explore on foot, an impressive Confucius Temple up on the hill overlooking town, and plenty of bananas, to boot! Both serve as pleasant getaways, being about an hour’s drive from KHH city. If you live in the city, or if you are visiting from overseas, you should give these two townships your time for a day, especially if you have a car. Feel free to drop me a line if you have further questions or need some help getting around there!

ChiSan Competition 12/1/2012

ChiSan Competition 12/1/2012

Battle Array Troupe from NeiMen

Battle Array Troupe from NeiMen

DSC_0600

DSC_0601

DSC_0561

DSC_0560DSC_0716

DSC_0712

DSC_0706

DSC_0703

DSC_0577

Aboriginal Artwork

One of a few dazzling temples in NeiMen

Ubiquitous Ornateness

Bamboo Everywhere

Countryside Prayer Altars (I really don’t know if locals would call this a temple!)

Seems like a friendly dragon…

Pineapple Fields

NeiMen’s Showcase Temple

NeiMen’s Temple from Afar

Local Renewal

Ornate!

Typically Ornate Temple Ceilings

Chisan’s Old Street Facades

Japanese Era Facades

Through the Ages…

Dragon Fountain

Such Detail!

If I didn’t live on the 14th floor of a building, I’d ask to buy this door for my home!

About vagabondwithfamily

I am an overseas teacher, one who chose to live abroad after getting my MEd in K-12 ESL and teaching license back in Minnesota, USA, and I've lived in Japan, Taiwan, Switzerland and Germany, with a stint in Mexico, studying Spanish, too. Now married and with two young, adorable and amazingly wonderful children, my solo travel days are limited, but life is great still.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NeiMen and Chisan Townships, Kaohsiung County, Taiwan

  1. Katina says:

    Beautiful pictures; so detailed, colorful and crisp! What kind of camera do you use?

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Hi, Katina! Thanks much for taking a look! I have a 4-year-old Nikon D80. Looking to upgrade soon, however!

  2. Lisa says:

    I love the pics of the drummers, you have really captured their energy. Impressive dragon too!

  3. gerry says:

    Very colorful and good use of perspective. I will use those moon world hills as a screensaver. Thanks.

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Thanks, Gerry! I appreciate any views and comments! If you have a chance to get out to the moonscape world, go for it!

  4. Lori K says:

    Thank goodness I didn’t have to pick a favorite! Beautiful

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Hey, thanks! I know a Lori K, too, but I don’t know if you are her!

      I appreciate your comment and your taking a look!

Leave a Reply

