Lounging and Living Large in Laos

ImageThis gentle lad and his friends played tag with me for a few hours one day while I was staying in their village in Laos while on an overnight trek.  What a wonderful experience it was, not only for the beauty of the moment but also for the lesson learned: The kids in this village were incredibly happy, all without any modern “needs” that many of us think we require to me happy.ImageThese two boys were in a village that we hiked into for lunch on our trek outside of Luang Prabang.  I love the expressions.ImageThe quarters of monks in training were often draped with clothes drying, simple examples of how their lives are also filled with mundane moments like doing laundry.ImageCool monks…

While walking the side streets of Luang Prabang, I came across this young chap, who wanted to show me his balloon inflating prowess. 

Items for sale in the evening market in Luang Prabang.

Locals in Laos passing out alms to monks who live in a nearby neighborhood are pictured here.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lounging and Living Large in Laos

  1. ATMA SEVA says:

    Great photos! I have heard nothing but good things about Luang Prabang!

    Looking forward to following your blog🙂

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Surely, Laos is a wonderful destination for many reasons, and Luang Prabang was definitely a highlight. Thanks for taking a look and for commenting, too!

  2. Margaret says:

    I love the photo with the clothes drying. Beautiful.

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Thank you, Margaret, for commenting on and viewing my pics. I am new to this process for the most part, so it is neat to hear feedback like yours! Cheers! (Having been “Fresh Squeezed” yesterday, I now have plenty of blogs to check out in response, but I’ll have to take a look at your site later!)

  3. Richert Manjarres says:

    Awesome pictures. Especially liked the one with the cool monks. thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • vagabondwithfamily says:

      Thank you, Richert! I was up in a tower, taking that pic from a second floor, but I so wanted to get closer to them, especially the one wearing the sunglasses. Thanks for taking a look and for commenting! Cheers! Michael in Taiwan

      • Richert Manjarres says:

        My pleasure Michael. You definitely have an eye. I look forward to following you on your adventures. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

